Development mode

Put here any ideas about new suggested game types comes into your mind.
Post Reply
User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6671
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Development mode

Post by Alexander82 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:15 pm

I'd like a mode were at the start of the game you already have a certain amount of tcs and can't move out of a certain area.
You can produce anything you need and build your base until a certain turn (set by the map creator) after which the real game starts and players can finally begin hostile actions.

This way you can develop your army even if you are playing in small maps and build a decent base even if you spawned in the middle of the map.
Age of Fantasy design leader

User avatar
Sunrise Samurai
Posts: 2650
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:21 pm
Location: Florida, U.S.

Re: Development mode

Post by Sunrise Samurai » Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:28 am

So treaty mode, like age of empires 3, but enforced by movement restrictions as well as combat prevention. Force starting tcs to all be within the confined spaces, and you've got a good idea. This lets us research and build up in peace for a few turns, without early rush tactics being a danger.
Currently residing at the local ninja academy. I'm still watching though.

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9416
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Development mode

Post by Stratego (dev) » Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:42 am

than what is ther point in playing those turns? you could simply checkbox which buildings and techs u want in a cost of that many turns. so you can start playing instantly with an army/building/tech you have chosen for that cost

User avatar
Sunrise Samurai
Posts: 2650
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:21 pm
Location: Florida, U.S.

Re: Development mode

Post by Sunrise Samurai » Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:57 am

It allows you to choose placement and order of such things. One person might start on a barracks, archery range, and blacksmith, while another goes for a blacksmith and instantly starts a castle.
Currently residing at the local ninja academy. I'm still watching though.

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: Development mode

Post by COOLguy » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:17 pm

Stratego (dev) wrote:than what is ther point in playing those turns? you could simply checkbox which buildings and techs u want in a cost of that many turns. so you can start playing instantly with an army/building/tech you have chosen for that cost
true
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
DoomCarrot
Posts: 3089
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:04 pm
Location: Commanding General's quarters, a tall keep above the mighty city of Carrot's Point

Re: Development mode

Post by DoomCarrot » Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:41 pm

Well it prevents my favorite strategy, rushing. :)
The day is coming when a single carrot, freshly observed, will set off a revolution.

User avatar
DoomCarrot
Posts: 3089
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 6:04 pm
Location: Commanding General's quarters, a tall keep above the mighty city of Carrot's Point

Re: Development mode

Post by DoomCarrot » Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:42 pm

It might be fun though, butbit would require some tweaking I think to balance it so bases do not become to invincible
The day is coming when a single carrot, freshly observed, will set off a revolution.

User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6671
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Development mode

Post by Alexander82 » Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:48 pm

Stratego (dev) wrote:than what is ther point in playing those turns? you could simply checkbox which buildings and techs u want in a cost of that many turns. so you can start playing instantly with an army/building/tech you have chosen for that cost
Is that possible?

That would be great.
Age of Fantasy design leader

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 9416
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Development mode

Post by Stratego (dev) » Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:51 am

literally everything is possible, only time is our enemy :)

User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6671
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Development mode

Post by Alexander82 » Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:12 am

That's why I proposed some no offense turns. Seemed easyer to do.
Age of Fantasy design leader

User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6671
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Development mode

Post by Alexander82 » Wed Oct 25, 2017 2:45 pm

I also was thinking... if we give a player 50 turns woth of production can we still bind them to a maximum turn cost?

For example the uruk hai progression is 27 turns long and this way a player might start with maxed uruks from the beginning.

Simulating a certain amount of turns in a restricted area of the map would prevent that kind of dynamics.
Age of Fantasy design leader

User avatar
Sunrise Samurai
Posts: 2650
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:21 pm
Location: Florida, U.S.

Re: Development mode

Post by Sunrise Samurai » Wed Oct 25, 2017 4:48 pm

....maxed uruks from the start. Scary thought....
Currently residing at the local ninja academy. I'm still watching though.

User avatar
Alexander82
Posts: 6671
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:18 pm

Re: Development mode

Post by Alexander82 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:40 am

Sunrise Samurai wrote:....maxed uruks from the start. Scary thought....
It is true that using that would leave the player with very few starting units but without trying it is difficult to tell if it'll be balanced or not.
Age of Fantasy design leader

User avatar
Sunrise Samurai
Posts: 2650
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 11:21 pm
Location: Florida, U.S.

Re: Development mode

Post by Sunrise Samurai » Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:09 am

I'd say give each player 3 tcs, 3 factories, 1 mega building, and 10 turns production in each. This means you can't start with extremely high level techs, and instead have a better simulation of early turns.
Currently residing at the local ninja academy. I'm still watching though.

Post Reply

Return to “New game types in the game (like capture the flag)”