AI don't make bridges

Moderator: Endru1241

Post Reply
User avatar
ollie444
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: UK

AI don't make bridges

Post by ollie444 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:17 pm

I have never seen the AI use any bridges at all, preferring use of loads of transports instead. Even two TCs separated just by a tile of water isn't enough.
Is this supposed to be like it is?

User avatar
ejm29
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 6:03 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by ejm29 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:11 pm

I've noticed the exact same thing. Either one transport as a bridge across a small 1 tile water piece" or lot's of transports. Never a bridge. Very strange :shock:

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by COOLguy » Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:33 pm

Daniel told me AI doesn't make bridges... something to consider when making maps. :)
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
balint
Posts: 1274
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 6:38 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by balint » Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:34 pm

It is Ok.
sometimes even I don't know wjere to build them :D
This is Hungary and winter is coming.

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by COOLguy » Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:37 pm

heehee! Transports (w/ wagons) FTW!!!
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
ollie444
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: UK

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by ollie444 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:55 pm

Ah yes, filling a 3-spaced transport with 3 full wagons, only to find it gets shot down by a catapult... Better luck next time.

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by COOLguy » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:23 pm

Use normal transports. They're faster. :D
Thanks!
Josh

Dgkfadomo777
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 9:00 pm

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by Dgkfadomo777 » Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:22 am

Put three wagons in a great transport with each wagon having three battering rams which have two spartans

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by COOLguy » Fri Dec 19, 2014 2:34 pm

And KABOOOOOM! they get blown up by a catapult/destroyer/warships.

Ouch :)
Thanks!
Josh

Stratego (dev)
Site Admin
Posts: 10404
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by Stratego (dev) » Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:55 am

yes AI can not build bridges, this is because i could not find a good way of implementing it/a good approach to know where should be a bridge.
really: where should be built a bridge? :)

User avatar
patroid
Posts: 1189
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Germany, Berlin

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by patroid » Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:33 pm

Hi
I am back now :D .

What about marking Tiles on maps that are good to make bridges??

(It will be good for camlaigns or some random maps to make a onetile bridge in
One /2/3 turns instead if using rare turns for transport...)

Its only good on a few maps so i think not so hard work...

Patroid

User avatar
ollie444
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: UK

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by ollie444 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:19 am

Another solution:

A - AI finds fastest path over ground from tc 1 to tc 2
B - AI find fastest path over ground + water from tc 1 to tc 2

If B > 3*A, or if A is non-existent,
Build bridge over B, priority dependent on A:B ratio

For improved AI;
Count water tiles in B
Put this into equation too (if there is one water tile, it should be more important than if there are 10 water tiles, which would take way too many turns to be worth it).

Are there any situations where it'd be bad?
This is my simplest solution

User avatar
ollie444
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: UK

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by ollie444 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:21 am

Or instead of tc 2, somehow getting the tile of where the AI wants to go next... I dunno if that's possible

User avatar
COOLguy
Posts: 4005
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 2:58 am
Location: Nenuial, Arnor

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by COOLguy » Wed Jan 21, 2015 5:19 pm

Priorities of objectives not always necessarily a tc. But they need to balance cost of bridge to if there's a land bridge.

You have good problem solving.
Thanks!
Josh

User avatar
ollie444
Posts: 452
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:42 pm
Location: UK

Re: AI don't make bridges

Post by ollie444 » Wed Jan 21, 2015 6:24 pm

COOLguy wrote:You have good problem solving.
Aw, thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “AI”